Sharjah Museums Department

The Sharjah Museums Department (SMD) was established in 2006 by His Highness Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah, as an independent government department.

SMD includes 16 museums covering Islamic art and culture, archaeology, heritage, science, marine life and the history of Sharjah and the region.

The purpose of the Sharjah Museums Department is to deliver the highest quality of museums services for the people of the Emirate of Sharjah and all its visitors, through its facilities, exhibitions, programmes of learning, research and community outreach. Sharjah Museums Department aims to achieve locally and internationally an understanding, appreciation and respect for Sharjah's identity and for the value of its cultural and natural heritage.